Home » Relationships » Communication » Negative undercurrents.

Negative undercurrents.

It has happened to me a couple times recently where someone has said something which indicates a negative viewpoint about me and then not understanding my taking a step back and putting distance between myself and this veiled negativity that is really not deserved.

I am not the greatest proponent of my own positive qualities so if there was any merit at all in what was said, I would readily admit it, accept it and move on, actually knowing me, I would already have pointed it out.

Averse as I am to compliment myself in any way, shape or form.

However, if this is the view that they have of me, is there any wonder why you would take a few steps back, as we get enough negative from everyone else on the planet, do we really need it from people that claim to be friends?

In my view, no…I am quite content not to entangle myself with folks that desire to look down at me…it is nifty if you have a seat at the cool kids table, or a jumping off point right up on the Mountain above the rest of us…applaud all those that can attain such lofty perches.

I am not deluded into thinking that people that look down on me for whatever reason, are above doing it to anyone, or everyone else who push their buttons.

No accounting for some people’s hobbies.

There are ways of sharing thoughts with people, without putting them down, and we do not always do that, or we do not realize what we are doing from the other person’s viewpoint.

Unfounded, snide comments for no particular reason are not going to endear you or garner trust.

Mind you it will certainly allow superficial friendships to continue, barely maintained and with limited interaction only suited to the tolerance of the person who is on the lower perch.

I like to have people to admire, they are good and caring people, and they do not make it a habit to look down at people. What I have seen them do is reach down and help people up, without judgement or condemnation.  They consider themselves equals, not better and the positivity that they share is contagious.

I can think of a few Police Officers, a lady Pastor, and others, who inspire, share, encourage, understand and comfort.  They don’t look down because they view those about them as equals.

Viewpoints I hope to accomplish with as much humility and kindness as they display.

Leave a Reply

