Home » Amusements » Dog Poo Fairy.

Dog Poo Fairy.

There is no Dog Poo Fairy

There is no Dog Poo Fairy

 

Really? There is no Dog Poo Fairy? You are kidding right?

I try to walk the dog once a day.

Getting ready to leave there are 3 things besides the dog that I try to ensure I have with me.

The only one that I will return to the house for if forgotten is, you guessed it, poo bags.

Now do not get me wrong, this is not a post of complaint, no whining or grumbling, but merely observation and a bit of amusement, self directed.

Recently there was an issue where I misplaced something during our walk, so the last spot to look was the little red dog poo depository box.

Don’t get me going on how much I did not want to go near it again, and amusingly enough, neither did the dog.

Holding my nose I opened the lid and peaked in, the item I had misplaced had not fallen in with the bag of doggy deposit, however 2 things happened simultaneously.

Well 3 actually.

The dog was pulling to not go near the box.

As I peaked in quickly and realized I recognized all the bags in their as being mine.

The last but probably most amusing was, I stepped in someone else’s dogs poo, 4 inches from the base of the box.

 I realize of course that this is the perfect set up for a rant…but the dog patiently listened to my muttering about the situation as we walked all the way home and discovered the missing item (camera) had not left the house with us (my panic over losing it was silly).

What inspired this post if not to rant about the irony and idiocy of the situation?

Well, it was the feeling of being stupid I felt at realizing the contents of the dog poo bin were all from us.

I am not sure if I should apologize to the poor bloke (or blokett) that has to clear the bins or not.

After all, I see dozens of dogs out there daily, either while on the walk or out my bedroom window, and well heck if they are taking their packets of puppy waste home to their own bins, I must seem horribly lazy.

I was picking up after the mutt the other day as a dog walker went by and I thought nothing of it.

After all it is my hound, her mess is my responsibility to clean up.

Had the person who left the deposit beside the box cleaned up, I would not have stepped in it.

As amusing as that is.

It left me feeling a bit foolish for seeming to be one of the few who picks up after the hound that leads me through the parks paths.

Perhaps that dog walker was having a chuckle that I should be so stupid as to pick up after the dog? Don’t know.

No, this is not the only instance where I get told that I am silly for thinking people should “obey” the rules but it is not conformity.

I like the area that I walk the dog in, and as I see the mess accumulating, I realize that others who avail themselves of those paths are going to feel negatively about dogs…as they do not know I pick up after mine, we shall get tarred with the same brush.

The sign I encountered amused me.

It also pointed out very simply that, a lot of people do not think like I do.

As each of the “person level” lights along the path get broken and are not replaced, garbage is strewn about and even the thirty something aged fellow out spraying weeds dumped empty bins in an alcove that most people do not venture into instead of binning them and the fellow on the motorcycle going up and down scares the dog witless…the beauty of the area that the photographer part of me enjoys, sinks.

There are no Dog Poo Fairies.

I think that they exist in the world of that “someone else” who looks after things that people just can’t be bothered to.

You know that whole clan of super people that picks up the garbage, assists the lost, checks on the drunks and investigates the screams…picks up after the dogs whose owners just can’t be bothered.

Now, I walk the hound on a leash as she is not use to other dogs and I do not wish to have her or another dog getting embroiled in anything, and no one getting bit.  This happened previously where my dog was viciously attacked and hospitalized after surgery for broken bones and torn flesh, after he (a puppy dachshund) was torn out of one of the boys arms by the attacking pair of huskies that lived down the street from us. It was after they attacked us that we discovered they were serial attackers and had killed another ladies dog previously.

Needless to say the people who open their doors and let their dogs fly out into the park, leash and owner-less in their charge, make me nervous.

The fellow whose dog rushed up, hackles raised to us the other day, owner yards away, and yelling at me to hit his dog as it circled mine (seriously dude?) was part of the reason I changed when I walk the hound.

I agree, it is nice to have an area for your dog to run in.  I come from the farm, we had 365 acres for our dogs to roam. However, this was private property and no one else was supposed to be on it.

Even then, there were mishaps.  That however is another post.

I do not believe there is a Dog Poo Fairy.

You may laugh at me for picking up after my leashed dog, carrying my garbage to the bin, looking out the window when I hear screams in the park or any of the other things that it seems stupid to do, but all these things are like the offshoot of manners, like saying excuse me after I burp (which some people I know personally, refuse to do).

I can laugh at the silly things that happen, and shake off the feeling that someone thinks I am an idiot, because at the end of the day, what I do does not leave a mess or negative impression on others, if I can help it.

No one is perfect.

Myself and my dog included.

Oh, by the way, my dog believes there IS a dog poo fairy.

After she goes, she tries to dash off and when I stop her, she stays at the end of the leash because well, can’t get too close to that now can we?

I explained to her the other day, that most humans, seem to feel like she does.

Yet as she tip toes through other dogs mess, I think she wishes that their owners, were more like me.

Then again, she is constantly amused by me.

Red Box

Watch your step around here.

Leave a Reply

