Home » Contemplation » bad » Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch. Show us evil.

Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch. Show us evil.

I saw a daily prompt which made me wonder.

Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch

The suggestion was:

Write about evil: how you understand it (or don’t), what you think it means, or a way it’s manifested, either in the world at large or in your life.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us EVIL.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is evil?

Is evil inside?

Or in the act of something horribly wrong?

You can show a person and say they are evil I guess, but were they always evil?  Does it matter?

To some professionals, that does matter.

You can not show a victim of something that we consider evil, because that victim is not evil (speaking generally here), and that would just be wrong.

People can have evil thoughts,, evil in their hearts, or do evil things but how do you show evil?

Is evil not a concept, like good, heaven, hell and well faith and hope…all intangible and difficult to depict with exactness.

Guns are not evil, they are tools which can be used in the aid of “good” or the process of “evil”.

I agree evil exists in the world, has shown up in horrors unimaginable throughout history, and will continue to.

I think it is too easy to label something or someone as evil and move on without examining causes, if only for markers, indicators of what could be seen to stop a repeat.

The holocaust was not the first such type incident – not knowing history would allow people to ignore signs, possibilities and indeed as that old saying goes, a repeat of the past.

I am sure everyone can name something they consider as depicting evil.

There is more such out there than I know about I am sure, and probably glad to not know.

I do not have to show anyone evil, because I think everyone has something that clicks into their minds at the mere mention of the word.

I know someone who works in Corrections, he sees people who the public consider evil everyday, he works to keep them separate yet humanely and responsibly cared for.

He says there is too much evil in the world, but he has no view on his charges other than, they are people serving a sentence and the judgement on them will come from some higher power, it is not for him to contemplate or condemn.

For myself I think that these folks get too much notoriety, some attention should be placed on those who do good deeds, without someone being bored with the positivity.

We have all heard of Anne Frank, but what is the name of the people who tried to hide them?

Or the others who silently do good deeds and save those who have no safety net, one person at a time.

Why does the dark entrance, and thrill, when it is so much harder to do good in the face of force and abuse?

Ah indeed, how to show evil.

It should be easy in the end, as a million visions pass through my mind at what things could be considered evil, now to take that and do some good…

…that would be something extraordinary.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch. Show us evil.

    • I worded that as I did because when I finally read up on it, I was shocked at how much I did not know – including who tried to keep them safe and where they were.

      People who risked their lives for others as penalty for hiding jews was death.

Leave a comment